Brevity

 

 

Each person whom I have enmeshed in my limbs and inhaled ( or have slipped into a day with ) – all of my lovers – are in a room together. The bar is serving cocktails and red wine, and horderves are passed around on doilied platters. The sequins on my deep blue dress are flattened the wrong way, like fur. Everyone is comporting themselves far too calculatingly. Perhaps as more alcohol is imbibed there will be less civility? More people are in attendance than my first calculations would have predicted. I do not wake up.

 

You can have it all

If all is vast

Lodged in the numb bright

Of the sky

 

Leave a Reply

